Skip to content

Information for International Applicants Applying for a Master's Degree

General information for international applicants

Thank you very much for your interest in studying at the South Westphalia University of Applied Sciences. There are currently students from about 100 nations studying at the university - and we would be glad to welcome you as well in the near future.

If you are still uncertain about selecting a study course due to your language skills, you can find an overview of our study courses according to language requirements here.

Please note that not all Master's courses start in the winter semester as well as in the summer semester. You can find the exact application deadlines here. You can apply for higher semesters in both the winter and summer semester. Classification in a higher semester is decided by the examination board once admission has been granted. Applications for credit transfer can be obtained from the Student Service Office (contact details at the bottom of this page).

What language skills do I need? Language skills

German language skills and DSH exam

If you are a foreigner without a German university entrance qualification and would like to enrol in a Bachelor's or Master's study course at the South Westphalia University of Applied Sciences, you need to take the DSH exam or the TestDaF test. This does not apply to all study courses, please consult the course-specific admission requirements.

Where can I take these German exams?

  • In the test centres for the TestDaF
  • In the testing locations of the Goethe Institute
    The Goethe Institute and its testing locations are available worldwide in many countires as well as in several German cities.
  • At the telc GmbH
  • At German universities (DSH exam)
    Please note that DSH exams are not offered at all German universities (unfortunately, South Westphalia University of Applied Sciences does not offer a DSH exam) and that universities often only admit applicants to the DSH exam subject to very specific conditions.

Learning German

There are numerous ways to learn German, both worldwide and in Germany, e.g. at the Goethe Institutes:

Head Office Munich
Goethe Institute
Oskar-von-Miller-Ring 18
80333 München
muenchen@goethe.de

Additionally, the International Office of the South Westphalia University of Applied Sciences occasionally offers free German courses that international full-time students can attend to refresh or improve their language skills, if required. However, these courses do not serve the purpose of taking the German language exam, which is a prerequisite for enrolment, but rather individual support after taking up studies. Further information and registration can be found at the International Office.

You already have good German language skills, but you don't have the DSH?

Then please check whether you belong to one of the following groups that are exempted from the DSH:

  • Applicants who have obtained a German higher education entrance qualification
  • Holders of a German school leaving certificate
  • Holders of the final certificate of a German-language Studienkolleg for foreign applicants (Feststellungsprüfung)
  • Holders of the "German Language Diploma" (Level II) of the Kultusministerkonferenz
  • Holders of a certificate indicating that they have passed the Zentrale Oberstufenprüfung (ZOP) of a Goethe-Institute.

English-language study courses

The South Westphalia University of Applied Sciences also offers some study courses that are entirely taught in English.

Which application procedure is suitable for me?

A) Are you equal to German citizens? Then use the online procedure of the South Westphalia University of Applied Sciences

Applicants from EU countries and applicants with equal status to German citizens can apply for admission at the South Westphalia University of Applied Sciences via the online application procedure.

Overview: What does "equal to German citizens" mean?

You are considered equal to German citizens if you meet one of the following requirements.

  • European HZB = European higher education entrance qualification, European Bachelor's degree (not: Master's degree!)
  • Applicants from EU countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway
  • The applicant lives in Germany and has family members with EU citizenship. This family member must work or have worked in Germany.

Family members in this sense are:

  • Parents
  • Spouse
  • Registered partners
  • Parents of the spouse/registered partner, if they provide financial support for the applicant
  • Children, if they are financially supporting the applicant
  • Children of the spouse/registered partner, if they are financially supporting the applicant

In more detail: The following foreign nationals and stateless persons are treated equally to German applicants in the admission procedure

  • Foreign nationals or stateless persons who have acquired a German higher education entrance qualification (Abitur or Fachhochschulreife), even if it is a German school abroad, provided the higher education entrance qualification was acquired in accordance with German law.
  • Citizens of an EU country, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway.
  • Applicants resident in the Federal Republic of Germany whose parents are citizens of an EU country, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway and who work or have worked in Germany.
  • Persons resident in the Federal Republic of Germany whose spouse or registered partner is a national of an EU country, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway and works or has worked in Germany.
  • Persons resident in the Federal Republic of Germany, provided that the parents of the spouse or registered partner are nationals of an EU country, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway and work or have worked in Germany and are financially supported by them.
  • Persons resident in the Federal Republic of Germany whose children are nationals of an EU country, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway and work or have worked in Germany and who are dependent on them.
  • Persons resident in the Federal Republic of Germany, provided that the children of the spouse or registered partner are nationals of an EU country, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway and are working or have worked in Germany and are supported by them.

B) Are you not equal to German citizens? Then please apply via uni-assist

International applicants from non-EU countries apply via uni-assist.

Register

First of all, please register at uni-assist. You can then access the uni-assist online forms via the online application.

Here you can fill in the standard application form for your application and save it permanently for later use. Generate a PDF of the completed application form and print it for your records. For processing, you must submit the application electronically to uni-assist.

Corrections

Once applications have been processed by uni-assist, they cannot be changed electronically. However, you can inform uni-assist of possible changes by email until the end of the application period. You can find the contact details here.

Submitting documents by postal mail

Please send your application documents in the required form to the following address:

Fachhochschule Südwestfalen
c/o uni-assist e.V.
D-11507 Berlin
Germany

Please note that uni-assist only requires these documents once, even if you are applying at two or more uni-assist universities.

Fees

All documents and any applicable fees must be received by uni-assist before the end of the application period. If possible, you should pay your application fee on the day you submit your application. Incomplete applications cannot be processed by uni-assist. If you still have questions when completing your application for South Westphalia University of Applied Sciences, you will get more information here.

Due to exceptional regulations caused by the corona pandemic, it is initially sufficient for the application for the winter semester 2021/2022 to upload the required documents at uni-assist. We reserve the right to randomly check your original documents. Therefore, please be sure to bring the original documents with you to Germany. If you are unable to present the original documents or if we determine that forgeries have been uploaded, we reserve the right to exmatriculate you immediately.

Payment options

Please note: The complete application fee must be received by uni-assist. Therefore, you will have to pay transfer fees charged by your bank in addition.

Further procedure

If you meet the formal requirements for an application, uni-assist will forward your application to the South Westphalia University of Applied Sciences. You will then receive a letter of acceptance or rejection with further information. Please note: If you are applying for a Master's study course, it will take a few weeks for the notification to be issued, as the faculty first has to check the content-related requirements. If you do not meet the formal requirements, uni-assist will inform you accordingly. Uni-assist will store your application documents until the end of the year following the receipt of your documents. After that, your documents will be deleted. If you re-apply within this time, you only need to re-upload the application form and submit any missing documents. Data in electronic form will be stored for four years. During this time, it will only be made available to uni-assist itself and to the universities you have chosen. After that, the data will be deleted.

Which application documents are required?Required documents

Please enclose the following documents with the application forms. All certificates must be submitted as officially certified copies in the original language and in sworn translation form in German or English language.

List of required documents

  • Secondary school leaving certificate / higher education entrance qualification (Abitur, Baccalaureat, GCE….). As a rule you need to document your educational background from your secondary school leaving certificate up until your present educational level.
    Please submit all certificates in full: you must always submit both your certificate and the corresponding subject and grade summary in full, any appendices to your certificate (e.g. a Diplom attachement) or individual pages have to be included. If your subject and grade summary does not include the applied grading system, please include information on the grading system used by your school or university as well.
  • For application to admissions restricted degree courses your higher education entrance qualification has to be amended by your declared overall average grade.
  • When indicated, transcript of records of previous university studies with declared overall average grade.
  • When indicated, proof of (Studienkolleg-Abschluss) / (Feststellungsprüfung).
  • Proof of language proficiency, alternatively proof that the language certificate can be submitted likely until beginning of lecture.
  • When indicated: additional certificates ( see list at uni-assist).
  • Specific supporting documents for your individual study course, such as proof of practical training or aptitude test.
  • Your ID card (ID: plain copy is sufficient).

Additional Documents required for Master's Study Courses

Please note that your application for a postgraduate study course / Master's course requires completed undergraduate studies plus the following:

  • Certificates and transcripts of records of your undergraduate studies
  • Proof of your occupational activity, as far as necessary for your postgraduate course of studies
  • Further entrance requirements, e.g. the requirement and proof of a certain overall average grade, see detailed information concerning your particular postgraduate study course

The calculation of equivalent grades will be carried out on the basis of the modified Bavarian formula for the calculation of exam results.

Contact

Heike Sobasik

Phone: 02371 - 566 551
Email: applicant@fh-swf.de
Contact preferably by e-mail

Tobias Becker (SG 2.4)

Phone: 02371 - 566 104
Email: applicant@fh-swf.de
Homepage:
Contact preferably by e-mail

Zum Inhalt springen

Wie bewerbe ich mich mit internationalem Schulabschluss für einen Master-Studiengang?

Allgemeine Hinweise für Bewerbungen von Ausländerinnen und Ausländern

Vielen Dank für Ihr Interesse an einem Studium an der Fachhochschule Südwestfalen. Bei uns studieren derzeit etwa 100 Nationen - und wir würden uns freuen, Sie ebenfalls demnächst bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.

Wenn Sie sich in Ihrer Studienwahl wegen Ihrer Sprachkenntnisse noch unschlüssig sind, können Sie die Studiengangsübersicht nach Sprachanforderung filtern.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass nicht alle Masterstudiengänge sowohl im Wintersemester als auch im Sommersemester starten. Die genauen Bewerbungsfristen finden Sie hier. Für höhere Fachsemester können Sie sich sowohl zum Winter- als auch zum Sommersemester bewerben. Die Einordnung in ein höheres Fachsemester erfolgt nach erfolgter Zulassung durch den Prüfungsausschuss. Anträge zur Anrechnung von Leistungen erhalten Sie im Studierenden-Servicebüro.Kontaktdaten für Sie unten auf dieser Seite.

Welche Sprachkenntnisse benötigen Sie?Sprachkenntnisse

Deutschkenntnisse und Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang (DSH)

Sie möchen sich als Ausländer ohne deutsche Hochschulzugangsberechtigung an der Fachhochschule Südwestfalen für das Fachstudium einschreiben und streben einen Bachelor- oder Masterabschluss an? Dann brauchen Sie die Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang oder die TestDaF-Prüfung

Wo können diese Deutschprüfungen abgelegt werden?

  • In Test-Zentren für den TestDaF
  • In Testzentren des Goethe-Instituts
    Diese Test-Zentren / Goethe-Institute gibt es weltweit in vielen Ländern und in vielen verschiedenen Städten in Deutschland.
  • Bei der telc GmbH
  • An deutschen Hochschulen (DSH-Prüfung)
    Beachten Sie bitte, dass DSH-Prüfungen nicht an allen deutschen Hochschulen angeboten werden (die Fachhochschule Südwestfalen bietet leider keine DSH-Prüfung an) und dass die Hochschulen Bewerber oft nur unter ganz bestimmten Bedingungen zur DSH zulassen.

Deutsch lernen

Es gibt sowohl weltweit als auch in Deutschland unzählige Möglichkeiten, die deutsche Sprache zu erlernen, z.B. in den Goethe-Instituten:

Zentrale
Goethe-Institut
Sonnenstraße 25
80331 München (Deutschland)
muenchen@goethe.de

Darüber hinaus bietet das Akademische Auslandsamt der Fachhochschule Südwestfalen hin und wieder kostenlose Deutschkurse an, an denen ausländische Vollzeitstudierende bei Bedarf zur Auffrischung oder Verbesserung ihrer Sprachkenntnisse teilnehmen können. Diese Kurse dienen jedoch nicht der Ablegung der Deutschprüfung, welche Einschreibungsvoraussetzung ist, sondern vielmehr der individuellen Förderung nach Aufnahme des Studiums. Nähere Informationen und Anmeldung beim Akademischen Auslandsamt .

Sie können schon sehr gut Deutsch, haben aber nicht die DSH?

Dann prüfen Sie bitte, ob Sie zu einer der folgenden Gruppen gehören, die von der DSH befreit sind:

  • Bewerber*innen, die eine deutsche Hochschulreife erhalten haben
  • Inhaber*innen eines deutschen Reifezeugnisses
  • Inhaber*innen des Abschlusszeugnisses eines deutschsprachigen Studienkollegs für ausländische Studienbewerber (Feststellungsprüfung)
  • Inhaber*innen des "Deutschen Sprachdiploms" (Stufe II) der Kultusministerkonferenz
  • Inhaber*innen eines Zeugnisses über die bestandene Zentrale Oberstufenprüfung (ZOP) eines Goethe-Instituts

Welches Bewerbungsverfahren kommt für Sie in Frage?

A) Sind sind Deutschen gleichgestellt? Dann nutzen Sie das Online-Verfahren der Fachhochschule Südwestfalen

Studienbewerber*innen aus EU-Ländern und Deutschen gleichgestellte Bewerber*innen bewerben Sie an der Fachhochschule Südwestfalen per Online-Verfahren

Überblick: Was bedeutet „Deutschen gleichgestellt"?

Sie sind Deutschen gleichgestellt, wenn Sie eine der folgenden Voraussetzungen erfüllen.

  • Europäische HZB = Europäisches Abitur, europäischer Bachelor (nicht: Master!)
  • Bewerber*innen aus EU-Land, Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen
  • Der Bewerber*in wohnt in Deutschland und hat Familienangehörige mit einer EU-Staatsbürgerschaft. Dieser Familienangehörige muss in Deutschland arbeiten oder gearbeitet haben.

Familienangehörige in diesem Sinne sind:

  • Eltern
  • Ehepartner
  • Eingetragene Lebenspartner
  • Eltern des Ehepartners / eingetragenen Lebenspartners, sofern diese der/m Bewerber*in Unterhalt gewähren
  • Kinder, sofern diese dem Bewerber / der Bewerberin Unterhalt gewähren
  • Kinder des Ehepartners / eingetragenen Lebenspartners, sofern diese der/m Bewerber*in Unterhalt gewähren

Ausführlicher: Folgende ausländische Staatsangehörige und Staatenlose sind im Zulassungsverfahren den deutschen Bewerbern gleichgestellt

  • Ausländische Staatsangehörige oder Staatenlose, die eine deutsche Hochschulzugangsberechtigung (Abitur oder Fachhochschulreife) erworben haben, auch wenn es sich um eine deutsche Schule im Ausland handelt, sofern die Hochschulzugangsberechtigung nach deutschem Recht erworben wurde.
  • Staatsangehörige aus einem EU-Land, Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen.
  • In der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (BRD) wohnende Bewerber und Bewerberinnen deren Eltern Staatsangehörige aus einem EU-Land, Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen sind und in der BRD arbeiten bzw. gearbeitet haben.
  • In der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (BRD) wohnende Personen deren Ehegatten oder eingetragene Lebenspartner Staatsangehörige aus einem EU-Land, Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen sind und in der BRD arbeiten bzw. gearbeitet haben.
  • In der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (BRD) wohnende Personen, sofern die Eltern des Ehepartners bzw. des eingetragenen Lebenspartners Staatsangehörige aus einem EU-Land, Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen sind und in der BRD arbeiten bzw. gearbeitet haben und von denen Unterhalt gewährt wird.
  • In der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (BRD) wohnende Personen deren Kinder Staatsangehörige aus einem EU-Land, Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen sind und in der BRD arbeiten bzw. gearbeitet haben und von denen Unterhalt gewährt wird.
  • In der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (BRD) wohnende Personen, sofern die Kinder des Ehepartners bzw. des eingetragenen Lebenspartners Staatsangehörige aus einem EU-Land, Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen sind und in der BRD arbeiten bzw. gearbeitet haben und von denen Unterhalt gewährt wird.

B) Sie sind Deutschen nicht gleichgestellt? Dann bewerben Sie sich über uni-assist

Ausländische Studienbewerber*innen aus Nicht-EU-Ländern bewerben sich über uni-assist.

Registrieren

Bitte registrieren Sie sich zunächst bei uni-assist Anschließend gelangen Sie über die Onlinebewerbung zu den uni-assist Online-Formularen.

Hier können Sie das Standard-Antragsformular für Ihre Bewerbung ausfüllen und für eine spätere Verwendung dauerhaft speichern. Generieren Sie ein PDF des ausgefüllten Antragsformulars zur Ansicht und zum Ausdruck für Ihre Unterlagen. Zur Bearbeitung müssen Sie die Bewerbung elektronisch an uni-assist übermitteln.

Korrekturen

Einmal von uni-assist bearbeitete Anträge lassen sich nicht mehr elektronisch verändern. Mögliche Änderungen können Sie bis zum Ende der Bewerbungsfrist aber per E-Mail mitteilen. Die Kontaktdaten finden Sie hier

Unterlagen zur Post

Schicken Sie Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen in der benötigten Form an die folgende Adresse:

Fachhochschule Südwestfalen
c/o uni-assist e.V.
D-11507 Berlin

Übrigens benötigt uni-assist diese Unterlagen nur einmal, auch wenn Sie sich für zwei oder mehrere uni-assist-Hochschulen bewerben.

Entgelte

Alle Unterlagen und das eventuell fällige Entgelt müssen vor dem Ende der Bewerbungsfrist bei uni-assist eintreffen. Bestenfalls bezahlen Sie an dem Tag, an dem Sie Ihren Antrag abschicken, auch Ihr Bewerbungsentgelt Unvollständige Bewerbungen können von uni-assist leider nicht bearbeitet werden. Sollten Sie noch Fragen bei der Zusammenstellung Ihrer Bewerbung für die Fachhochschule Südwestfalen haben, können Sie sich hier erkundigen.

Aufgrund von Ausnahmeregelungen aufgrund der Coronapandemie ist es für die Bewerbung zum Wintersemester 2021/2022 zunächst ausreichend, wenn Sie die benötigten Unterlagen bei uni-assist hochladen. Wir behalten uns vor, stichprobenartig Ihre Orignalunterlagen zu prüfen. Bitte bringen Sie die Originaldokumente daher unbedingt mit nach Deutschland. Sofern Sie die Orignaldokumente nicht vorlegen können oder wir feststellen, dass Fälschungen hochgeladen wurden, behalten wir uns vor, Sie umgehend zu exmatrikulieren.

Zahlungsoptionen

Bitte beachten Sie: Das Bewerbungsentgelt muss vollständig bei uni-assist eingehen. Überweisungsgebühren Ihrer Bank müssen Sie also zusätzlich bezahlen.

Weiterer Ablauf

Wenn Sie die formalen Anforderungen an eine Bewerbung erfüllen, leitet uni-assist Ihre Bewerbung an die Fachhochschule Südwestfalen weiter. Sie bekommen dann von der Fachhochschule Südwestfalen einen Zulassungs- oder Ablehnungsbescheid mit weiteren Informationen. Hinweis: Bei einer Bewerbung für einen Masterstudiengang wird die Bescheiderstellung einige Wochen in Anspruch nehmen, da der Fachbereich erst die inhaltlichen Voraussetzungen prüfen muss. Wenn Sie die formalen Anforderungen nicht erfüllen, werden Sie von uni-assist entsprechend informiert. Uni-assist bewahrt Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen bis zum Ende des Jahres auf, das auf den Erhalt Ihrer Dokumente folgt. Danach werden Ihre Unterlagen vernichtet. Bei einer erneuten Bewerbung innerhalb dieser Zeit brauchen Sie nur den Bewerbungsantrag neu hochladen und ggf. fehlende Unterlagen nachreichen. uni-assist speichert Ihre Daten für vier Jahre im Computer. Sie werden in dieser Zeit nur uni-assist selbst und den von Ihnen gewählten Hochschulen zur Verfügung gestellt. Danach werden die Daten vernichtet.

Liste der Bewerbungsunterlagen

  • Hochschulzugangsberechtigung, für NC-Studiengänge mit ausgewiesener Durchschnittsnote (Abitur, Baccalaureat, GCE….) in der Original-Sprache sowie in deutscher oder englischer Übersetzung
  • Ggf. Studiennachweis einschließlich Notenspiegel mit ausgewiesener Durchschnittsnote in der Original-Sprache sowie in deutscher oder englischer Übersetzung
  • Ggf. Nachweis des Studienkolleg-Abschlusses / Feststellungsprüfung
  • Deutsch-Sprachnachweis oder Nachweis, dass der Sprachnachweis voraussichtlich bis Vorlesungsbeginn nachgewiesen wird (z. B. Anmeldung zur Sprach-Prüfung)
  • Je nach Herkunftsland sind zusätzliche Nachweise erforderlich, z. B. APS (wahlweise auch im Original). Weitere Infos bei uni-assist:
    Länderhinweise
  • Kopie des Personalausweises (einfache Kopie genügt!)
  • Studiengangspezifische Nachweise wie Praktikum, Eignungstest in der Original-Sprache sowie in deutscher oder englischer Übersetzung
  • Zur Einschreibung (=Immatrikulation) benötigen Sie einen Krankenversicherungsnachweis einer deutschen gesetzlichen Krankenkasse „zur Vorlage bei einer Hochschule
  • Sofern Sie einen Zulassungsbescheid vorab per E-Mail erhalten möchten, füllen Sie bitte die Einwilligungserklärung aus und übersenden diese zusammen mit Ihren Bewerbungsunterlagen. Bitte haben Sie dafür Verständnis, dass dieser Service nur zur Verfügung steht, wenn Sie weder eine deutsche Adresse noch eine deutsche Kontaktadresse haben.
    PDF Einwilligungserklärung

Fragen zu den Bewerbungsverfahren?

Für Iserlohn und Soest

Frau Heike Sobasik

Telefon: 02371 - 566 551
E-Mail: applicant@fh-swf.de
Eine Anfrage per E-Mail wird bevorzugt!

Für Hagen, Meschede und Lüdenscheid:

Herr Tobias Becker (SG 2.4)

Telefon: 02371 - 566 104
E-Mail: applicant@fh-swf.de
Homepage:
Eine Anfrage per E-Mail wird bevorzugt!