Skip to content

Informatics and Business M.Sc.

Informatics and Business (M.Sc.)

Do you think economically and technically at the same time? Do you enjoy managing data, IT systems and processes? The study course Informatics & Business qualifies you to become an expert at the interface between technical ideas and the professional implementation of information and communication systems for the optimisation of economic processes. Two practice-oriented core areas provide you with additional specialisations and attractive career prospects. Informatics and Business is admission-free.

Informatics and Business M.Sc.

Programme in German - further information about our application and admission process in German only!

Apply now!

Your studies in Hagen

Who is the study course aimed at and what career prospects does it offer?

The digitalisation and networking of operational processes from product development to logistics and intelligent production according to Industry 4.0 concepts are current challenges in industry. The high degree of complexity requires sound knowledge in computer science and in the field of business administration. This is where our 3-semester Master's degree "Informatics and Business" comes into play. Beside the theoretical and practical specialisation in the two core areas "ERP and Analytical Systems" and "IT Quality Management", the course imparts knowledge in SAP®, software engineering, IT auditing, information management and data science at an international level.

Students of our Master's course in Informatics and Business have the know-how for the major topics such as software quality, enterprise resource planning, the Internet of Things, artificial intelligence, Industry 4.0 or autonomous mobility. Students are provided with a well-prepared toolbox creating the important practical reference, which is why the "contact to professional practice" can always be found in the modules of the study course. The study course enables solution-oriented work from the first semester onwards, among other things, on real practice-oriented issues in industry. Our international student teams do not only design application-oriented solutions for tomorrow, but they also acquire important soft skills: open communication, curiosity for different tasks and new challenges, the ability to work in a team in an intercultural environment, skills in agile project management and much more.

Target group

Do you have an analytical and economic mindset? Do you want to improve your soft skills and conceptual abilities? The study course Informatics and Business strives to qualify you as an information technology all-rounder with a sound knowledge of business administration applications.

Career prospects

The real and virtual world, industry and information technology are increasingly growing closer together. "Industry 4.0" and "digitalisation" are no longer just trendy words, they accompany us every day in our daily lives. They constitute new challenges for business informatics professionals and industrial engineers, but also for industry. Modern enterprises need increasingly more specialists who work at the interface between business, information technology and engineering. The perspectives and fields of application of our Master's degree are diverse, our students work conceptually and implementation-oriented. They develop, install and model technical systems for the optimisation and control of complex industrial plants or within ERP systems such as SAP. Our students work on "Industry 4.0" processes, especially in mechanical and plant engineering, the automotive industry, electrical engineering, the ITC industry or the chemical industry. The career prospects with this qualification are and will remain excellent in the future, because increasingly complex technologies, products and processes are being developed that will require these skills in the future and in the long term.

Studi-Stimmen

Dr. Kathrin Maassen (studied Business Administration and Engineering (B.Sc.) from 2009 - 2012)

The international orientation of my study program was an advantage in 2009 and one of the reasons why I chose the FH SWF as my place of study. In retrospect, mandatory language courses and the participation in an international excursion made it easier for me to start my future career. Therefore, I’m pleased that the FH SWF is expanding its range of courses in a forward-looking way by including master programs in English like Business and Informatics.

How is the study course structured?

The study course Informatics and Business is very diverse and offers individual opportunities for competence building with regard to the two core areas of ERP and Analytical Systems as well as IT Quality Management.

Core area: ERP and Analytical Systems

To become leaders in the technological and digital transformation, enterprises need to increase their performance, efficiency and customer loyalty. This can be obtained through the strategic use and analysis of data and the use of integrated ERP landscapes. The ever-increasing amounts of data and the requirements of Industry 4.0 require both the handling and understanding of data processing within common ERP software as well as the development of analytical knowledge with regard to methods in the present situation.

The core area "ERP and Analytical Systems" covers an introduction to Industry 4.0 concepts and the application of practical case studies on networking and scenarios in intelligent factories as well as various quantitative methods such as predictive data mining, simulation and optimisation. Moreover, students acquire important standards of ERP systems based on SAP as well as business structures, functionalities and interrelationships of integrated information systems. Our students deepen their professional and methodological competencies especially in the areas of data analysis, modelling and forecasting with a focus on enterprise resource planning and advanced analysis methods such as classification, segmentation and clustering. Consequently, our students are ideally prepared to work in a wide variety of organisational units in enterprises after graduation by specifically analysing the data available today and, based on this, creating forecasts in order to design operational or entrepreneurial processes more efficiently.

Core area: IT Quality Management

In today's globalised economy, enterprises cannot afford any deficits in their quality standards due to the ever-increasing competition. They must also strive for continuous improvements in the area of software quality management in order to remain successful in competition. Therefore, it is no longer sufficient to be able to develop software. The software's quality must also meet the requirements in order to be successful on the market. To develop good software, one has to understand what software quality actually is, how it is created, measured and maintained. Our students can develop new IT systems quality-consciously and implement their ideas creatively and according to high standards. In the core area "IT Quality Management", our students learn comprehensively about the process of quality-controlled software development. In addition, they learn to understand and master the interaction of the components of complex IT systems. The special focus is on quality, security and usability. For this purpose, tools of Design Thinking, Test Driven Development and Requirement Engineering are applied, among others.

Curriculum Informatics & Business (M.Sc.)

Core areasCompulsory modulesCompulsory electives ACompulsory electives BCompulsory electives C
ERP and Analytical Systems, IT Quality ManagementThe compulsory modules comprise both core modules of the respective focus and comprehensive modules such as Information Management and Cross Culture Management and Business Ethics.
The following courses, among others, are offered in the core areas:

Internship ERP Systems, Smart Factories: SAP Leonardo for Industry 4.0, Advanced Analytics, Enhancement and configuration of ERP systems

IT Quality Management, Requirements Engineering and Test Driven Development, IT Quality Controlling, Design Thinking
Here, modules are offered from the core area that was not selected.Students can choose from the following modules of Production Technology and Information Engineering:

Production Technology, Production Systems (Planning & Simulation)

IT Service Management - Business Processes and Workflow Management, Machine Learning

A number of modules are offered to strengthen the management competencies and skills:
Human Resources and Labour Law, Agile Project Management, Data Science Project Seminar: Driving Corporate Performance, Design for Six Sigma and Design of Experiments, Cost and Earned Value Management, Intellectual Property Law / Competition Law, Strategic Management and Change, Advanced Technical and Business English

Figure legend

Compulsory modules
Compulsory electives

Programme in German - further information about our application and admission process in German only!

Apply now!

Contact

Campus Iserlohn and Soest

Heike Sobasik

Phone: 02371 - 566 551
Email: applicant@fh-swf.de
Contact preferably by e-mail
Campus Hagen, Meschede and Lüdenscheid

Tobias Becker (SG 2.4)

Phone: 02371 - 566 104
Email: applicant@fh-swf.de
Homepage:
Contact preferably by e-mail

Zum Inhalt springen

Informatics and Business M.Sc.

Hagen

Master-Studiengang Informatics and Business

Sie können wirtschaftlich und gleichzeitig technisch denken? Der Umgang mit Daten, IT-Systemen und Prozessen macht Ihnen Spaß? Der Studiengang Informatics & Business macht Sie zu einem Experten an der Schnittstelle zwischen technischer Idee und fachlicher Umsetzung von Informations- und Kommunikationssystemen zur Optimierung von wirtschaftlichen Prozessen. Zwei praxisorientierte Studienschwerpunkte ermöglichen Ihnen zusätzliche Spezialisierungen und attraktive Berufsperspektiven. Der Studiengang Informatics and Business (M.Sc.) ist NC-Frei.

Das Informatics and Business-Studium im Überblick

Studieren in Hagen

An wen richtet sich der Studiengang und welche Perspektiven bietet er?

Aktuelle Herausforderungen der Industrie bestehen in der Digitalisierung und Vernetzung betrieblicher Prozesse von der Produktentwicklung über die Logistik bis hin zur intelligenten Produktion gemäß Industrie 4.0-Konzepten. Der hohe Grad an Komplexität erfordert fundierte Kenntnisse in der Informatik und im Bereich der Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Hier setzt unser 3-semestriger Masterstudiengang „Informatics and Business“ an. Neben der theoretischen und praktischen Vertiefung in den beiden Schwerpunkten "ERP- and Analytical Systems" sowie "IT Quality Management" vermittelt das Programm auf internationalem Niveau Kenntnisse in SAP®, Software Engineering, IT-Auditing, Information Management und Data Science.

Wer unseren Masterstudiengang Informatics and Business studiert, hat das Rüstzeug für die großen Themen wie Softwarequalität, Enterprise Resource Planning, Internet der Dinge, Künstliche Intelligenz, Industrie 4.0 oder Autonome Mobilität. Ausgestattet mit einem gebrauchsfertigen Werkzeugkasten schaffen unsere Studierenden den wichtigen Praxisbezug, weshalb auch der "Kontakt zur beruflichen Praxis" immer wieder in den Modulen des Studiengangs gesucht und gefunden wird. Hier ermöglicht das Studium vom ersten Semester an lösungsorientiertes Arbeiten u.a. an realen praxisorientierten Aufgabenstellungen der Industrie. Unsere internationalen Studierendenteams entwerfen nicht nur anwendungsorientierte Lösungen für morgen, sondern sie entwickeln auch wichtige Soft Skills - offene Kommunikation, Neugierde auf andersartige Aufgaben und neue Herausforderungen, Teamfähigkeit in einem interkulturellen Umfeld, Fähigkeiten im agilen Projektmanagement und vieles mehr.

Zielgruppe

Sie verfügen über eine analytische und wirtschaftliche Denkweise? Sie wollen Ihre Soft Skills und konzeptionellen Fähigkeiten erweitern? Der Studiengang Informatics and Business verfolgt das Ziel, Sie zu einem informationstechnischen Allrounder auszubilden mit fundierten betriebswirtschaflichen Anwendungskenntnissen.

Berufliche Perspektiven

Die reale und die virtuelle Welt, die Industrie und die Informationstechnologie wachsen immer enger zusammen. „Industrie 4.0“ und „Digitalisierung“ sind nicht mehr nur Trendwörter, sondern Realität und begleiten uns tagtäglich in unserem Alltag. Sie stellen neue Herausforderungen für Wirtschaftsinformatiker und Wirtschaftsingenieure, aber auch für die Industrie dar. Moderne Unternehmen brauchen dafür immer mehr Spezialisten, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wirtschaft, Informationstechnologie und Ingenieurwissenschaften arbeiten. Die Perspektiven und Anwendungsfelder unseres Masterstudiengangs sind vielfältig, unsere Studierenden arbeiten konzeptionell und umsetzungsstark. Sie entwickeln, installieren und modellieren technische Systeme zur Optimierung und Steuerung komplexer Industrieanlagen oder innerhalb von ERP-Systemen wie bspw. SAP. Unsere Studierenden arbeiten an „Industrie 4.0"-Prozessen, insbesondere im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, der Automobilindustrie, der Elektrotechnik, der ITK-Industrie oder der chemischen Industrie. Die Berufsaussichten mit diesem Abschluss sind und bleiben auch zukünftig hervorragend, denn es werden immer komplexere Technologien, Produkte und Prozesse entwickelt, die genau diese Fähigkeiten zukünftig und langfristig erfordern.

Studi-Stimmen

Dr. Kathrin Maassen (studierte Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen (B.Sc.) von 2009-2012)

Die internationale Ausrichtung meines Studiums war 2009 ein echter Pluspunkt und einer der Gründe, warum ich mich für die FH SWF als Studienort entschieden habe. Rückblickend haben mir die verpflichtenden Sprachkurse und die Teilnahme an einer internationalen Exkursion den Einstieg ins spätere Berufsleben vereinfacht. Ich freue mich daher, dass die FH SWF ihr Studienangebot zukunftsweisend um englischsprachige Masterstudiengänge, wie Business and Informatics, erweitert.

Wie ist das Informatics and Business-Studium aufgebaut?

Der Studiengang Informatics and Business ist sehr vielfältig und bietet individuelle Möglichkeiten der Kompetenzbildung hinsichtlich der beiden Schwerpunktthemen ERP and Analytical Systems und IT Quality Management.

Schwerpunkt: ERP and Analytical Systems

Um sich im technologischen und digitalen Wandel einen Vorsprung zu verschaffen, müssen Unternehmen ihre Perfomance, Effizienz und Kundenbindung erhöhen. Dies realisieren Sie durch die strategische Nutzung und Analyse von Daten und dem Einsatz von integrierten ERP-Landschaften. Die immer größer werdenden Datenmengen und die Anforderungen an die Industrie 4.0 erfordern sowohl den Umgang als auch das Verständnis zur Verarbeitung von Daten. innerhalb gängiger ERP-Software sowie den Ausbau von analytischen Kenntnissen im Hinblick auf Methoden in der heutigen Zeit.

Der Schwerpunkt „ERP and Analytical Systems“ umfasst von der Einführung in Industrie 4.0 Konzepte und Anwendung praktischer Fallbeispiele zur Vernetzung und Szenarien in intelligenten Fabriken auch diverse quantitative Methoden wie prädiktives Data Mining, Simulation und Optimierung. Darüber hinaus werden wichtige Standards von ERP-Systemen anhand von SAP sowie geschäftliche Strukturen, Funktionalitäten und Zusammenhänge von integrierten Informationssystemen erlernt. Unsere Studierenden vertiefen ihre fachlichen und methodischen Kompetenzen vor allem in den Bereichen der Datenanalyse, Modellierung und Prognose mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Enterprise Resource Planning und fortgeschrittenen Analysemethoden wie Klassifizierung, Segmentierung, Clustering. Damit sind unsere Studierenden bestens darauf vorbereitet, nach dem Studium in den unterschiedlichsten Organisationseinheiten in Unternehmen tätig zu werden, indem sie gezielt die heute verfügbaren Daten analysieren und darauf aufbauend Prognosen erstellen, um betriebliche bzw. unternehmerische Prozesse effizienter zu gestalten.

Schwerpunkt: IT Quality Management

In der heutigen globalisierten Wirtschaft können sich Unternehmen aufgrund des immer stärker werdenden Wettbewerbs keine Defizite in ihren Qualitätsstandards leisten. Daher müssen sie auch im Bereich des Software-Qualitätsmanagements kontinuierliche Verbesserungen anstreben, um im Wettbewerb erfolgreich zu bleiben. Es reicht also nicht mehr aus, Software entwickeln zu können. Auch die Qualität der Software muss stimmen, um auf dem Markt erfolgreich zu sein. Um gute Software entwickeln zu können, muss man verstehen, was Software-Qualität eigentlich ist, wie sie zustande kommt, gemessen und erhalten werden kann. Unsere Studierenden können neue IT-Systeme qualitätsbewusst entwickeln und ihre Ideen kreativ und nach hohen Standards umsetzen. Im Schwerpunkt „IT Quality Management“ lernen unsere Studierenden den Prozess der qualitätsgesteuerten Softwareentwicklung umfassend kennen. Darüber hinaus lernen Sie, das Zusammenspiel der Komponenten komplexer IT-Systeme zu verstehen und zu beherrschen. Dabei liegt der besondere Fokus auf der Qualität, Sicherheit und Usability. Hierzu werden u.a. Werkzeuge des Design Thinking, Test Driven Development und Requirement Engineering angewendet.

Studienverlaufsplan Informatics and Business

ScherpunktePflichtmoduleWahlpflichtbereich AWahlpflichtbereich BWahlpflichtbereich C
ERP and Analytical Systems, IT Quality ManagementZu den Pflichtmodulen gehören sowohl Kernmodule des jeweiligen Schwerpunktes, als auch schwerpunktübergreifende Module wie beispielsweise Information Management sowie Cross Culture Management and Business Ethics.

In den Schwerpunkten werden u.a. folgende Kurse angeboten:

- Internship ERP-Systems, Smart Factories: SAP Leonardo for Industry 4.0, Advanced Analytics, Enhancement and configuration of ERP systems

- IT Quality Management, Requirements Engineering and Test Driven Development, IT Quality Controlling, Design Thinking
In diesem Wahlbereich werden Module aus dem Schwerpunktmodul angeboten, das nicht als Schwerpunkt gewählt wurde.Aus folgenden Modulen der Produktionstechnik und des Information Engineering kann gewählt werden:

- Produktionstechnik, Produktionssysteme (Planung & Simulation)

- IT-Service Management - Business Processes and Workflowmanagement, Machine Learning

Zur Stärkung der Managementkompetenzen und -skills unserer Studierenden werden eine Reihe von Modulen angeboten:
Human Resources and Labour Law, Agile Project Management, Data Science Projekt Seminar: Driving Corporate Performance, Design for Six Sigma and Design of Experiments, Kosten- und Wertschöpfungsmanagement, Immaterialgüterrecht / Wettbewerbsrecht, Strategic Management and Change, Advanced Technical and Business English

Legende zum Studienverlaufsplan

Pflichtmodule
Wahlpflichtbereich

Weitergehende Informationen können den Studienverlaufsplänen, dem Modulhandbuch und der Prüfungsordnung des Studiengangs entnommen werden.

Master-Studiengang Informatics and Business: Weitere Informationen

Prüfungsordnung, Modulhandbücher und Verlaufspläne

für den Studiengang Informatics and Business M.Sc. am Standort Hagen
Zu den PDFs

Interessiert? Jetzt bewerben!

Alle Informationen rund um das Bewerbungsverfahren finden Sie bei der

Online-Bewerbung

Fragen zum Studiengang oder zur Studienwahl?

Das Team der Allgemeinen Studienberatung hilft Ihnen gerne weiter.

Weitere Ansprechpartner finden Sie hier.